Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to everything, need advise on strategy
Hi all,

Lately I have been looking for better investment oppertunies than just letting my money sit on my bank account.

I am trying to save money for buying a house in the future.

Now I have done some reading and figured out that I want to invest in stocks focused on a high dividend. The money I want to use for this is doing nothing right now, I don't need it.

However, I have never before bought stocks or bonds. So I am very new to all of this. I noticed that the markets have soured up during the last year, so I have the feeling I am actually a little bit late to the party.

My plan is to invest 500 euro's each month. I will invest this in stock and bond indexes that yield a high percentage dividend.

What do you guys think about this strategy? Is it still advisable to start investing right now with this market? I am seeing that the Shiller P/E is pretty high right now, so that points out that I shouldn't buy stocks I guess.

However, if I use the strategy to invest 500 euro's every month I think it doesn't really matter how the market is behaving. If I keep investing money when the market falls, it evens out. Am I right about this?
If this is money that you are going to need to buy a house soon, I wouldn't invest it in stocks or bonds. If you are investing in the stock market, you need to not touch it for at least 10 years. That being said, your plan is a good one. Time in the market is better than timing the market. Since I'm in the accumulation phase, I don't really care about the Shiller P/E. I'm investing money every month so if it's up or down this month isn't too much of a concern to me. Since I don't need the money for quite a while, getting in at a high market doesn't concern me too much. Though I am buying individual stocks so there is usually at least one of the stocks I like that is trading at a fair to undervalued price.
Welcome to the forum, Dutchdreamer!