Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What Are We Missing?
An absurd amount of information is freely available across a plethora of sites today. We have instant access to more data than at any time in history.

I'm a Software Engineer so my primary job description is to reinvent the wheel. Just kidding. Kinda. For our brand of investing, Dividend Growth Investing, I can't help but feel even with all the information available to us, there's still some resources missing that would be extremely valuable.

I have some ideas floating around for what I'd like to build next but I'd like your thoughts:

What are we missing? What would be valuable to you?
I'm a software engineer myself and what I am missing (and planning on writing when I get a break... good luck with that...) is some kind of portfolio tracking solution that is focused on dividends and YOC without the extra "current market price" noise.

I would like to enter my trades in that software and let it scan the web for relevant dividend news and showing me updates (maybe via emails).

I would also like to set it to send an "high-important" alert to my phone when a dividend is decreased!

I'll probably have time to work on it when I retire @67...
daat99,
I developed an MS Excel workbook for portfolio tracking several years ago. I have been using this tool for the past 7 years tweaking the features as I go. It allows me to track my basis in a given stock, calculate my dividend income and trading income returns for individual stocks, track portfolio value, annual returns, etc. It also has external links to various fiinancial websites. You can view parts of the portfolio tracking software on my website shown on my profile page.

M$$I
This screenshot sums up the majority of what you guys are discussing

[Image: Xqzed0D.png]

I'm thinking more on the analysis / fundamental / technical side.

Displaying metrics + doing simple calculations on them is the easy part.