Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help with portfolio
hello people

i am really new to dividend investing , i been trading forex all along .
i have 10000 to invest and want to cash in on the cheap oil , please put forward your suggestions

EVEP
CVX
LINE
BP
XOM

SDRL(may be )

Thank you

Kumar
(01-08-2015, 05:15 AM)booze007 Wrote: hello people

i am really new to dividend investing , i been trading forex all along .
i have 10000 to invest and want to cash in on the cheap oil , please put forward your suggestions

EVEP
CVX
LINE
BP
XOM

SDRL(may be )

Thank you

Kumar

You need to consider a few things.

1. Starting yiled
2. How undervalued the stock is <--- Maybe look at historic p/e
3. Debt/equity
4. Dividend streak
5. Dividend Growth over 5/10 years e.t.c

PLUS many more...

What I learnt on here a while ago is that the decision is yours. People are reluctant to tell you where to invest as it's your money.

I bought into BP yesterday at a 6% yield but it's one of the more risky oil plays due to the Mexico oil spill i.e legacy issues plus they have a much lower streak due to cutting the dividend around 5years back. Not to mention the stake in OAO ROSNEFT.

Ask these questions and make a choice Smile

Lewys
Welcome to the forums, I hope you'll prosper here.

I would like to recommend that you'll delay your first purchase and create a "purchase plan".
Basically create a list of rules that you want the companies you purchase to meet before you consider buying them.

Common rules are:
1. How many years the company increased the dividends (the longer streak the better).
2. How much money do they give as dividends compared to how much they actually earn (if they earn $1 and give $2 then they'll most likely go bankrupt before you get your money worth back).
3. How much debt do they have compared to their real value (Debt on Equity or D/E) - the lower debt the safer the investment.